Awards, Scholarships and Honours

Zhonghua Yao wins Arne Richter Award 2018 of EGU



Picture © EGU

The 2018 Arne Richter Award of the Outstanding Early Career Scientists Award Division of the European Geoscience Union (EGU) is awarded to Zhonghua Yao - Researcher at the Laboratory for Planetary and Atmospheric Physics of ULiège - for his crucial research in identifying the processes leading to the transfer and dissipation of energy in the planets of the solar system.


octor Zhonghua Yao's research (within STAR Research Unit and the Faculty of Science) focuses on identifying the processes leading to the transfer and dissipation of energy in the planets of the solar system, and for emphasizing the importance of comparative planetary sciences.

The researcher made important scientific breakthroughs in understanding the key issues of dissipation of planetary magnetospheric energy on Earth, Saturn and Jupiter and compared the development of large-scale current systems associated in these systems.

Zhonghua Yao has published 42 articles in international peer-reviewed journals. Most publications concern the dynamics of magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling on Earth, Mercury, Jupiter and Saturn. His scientific thinking and a very clear strategy enabled him to win a Marie-Curie COFUND scholarship to work on the dawn of Jupiter at the Laboratory for Planetary and Atmospheric Physics of the University of Liege.

A junior researcher, Yao had already earned a solid reputation in the international space science community. He has been invited to present his research work at four international conferences, convened four sessions for international conferences, including two as the main organizer of the EGU General Assembly and the annual meeting of the Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS). He is also a guest editor for Geoscience Letters, the official journal of the AOGS, and quickly developed strong international leadership shortly after his PhD.

Learn more

The European Geophysical Society (EGU)

The European Union of Geosciences is the leading organisation dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in earth, planetary and space sciences. It was created in September 2002 following the merging of the European Geophysical Society (EGS) and the European Union of Geosciences (EGU). It is an international non-profit organization of scientists with more than 12,500 members from around the world.

The Arne Richter Award for Outstanding Early Career Scientists (formerly Outstanding Young Scientist Award) recognises scientific achievements in any field of the geosciences, made by an early career scientist. From 2011 onwards the EGU Council renamed the former Outstanding Young Scientist Award in honour of Arne Richter, the former Executive Secretary of the EGU, for his never-ending efforts to promote early career scientists.

Arne Richter Award

Share this news